National Merit 2018

Updated March 2019
CONGRATULATIONS to Fort Zumwalt School District's NINE National Merit Finalists. North High's Caleb Fick and Celeste O'Brien; South High's Aravind Kalathil and Katie Whitmore; and West High's Aliyah Amerin, Matthew Armstrong, Malia Johnson, Bennett Nelson and Satya Sivasankar are among the nation's top high school scholars.

Collage yearbook pictures
In addition, congratulations to seven Fort Zumwalt seniors for their outstanding academic accomplishments.
East High’s Reese Jones, North High’s Caleb Fick and Brendan Hoffmann, South High’s Akshat Nadella and Kassandra Shepherd and West High’s Matthew Armstrong and Satya Sivasankar will be honored at a luncheon in Columbia as members of the Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals Missouri Scholars 100.

The selection is based primarily on a formula using the student’s grade point average and ACT or SAT score. Each student nominated had to first meet criteria of an “Academic Decathlon,” which included 10 “events” designed to assure the academic strength of the student. To meet the decathlon requirements, the student must have a minimum GPA of 3.750, a minimum ACT score of 29 or a minimum SAT score of 1,600, be ranked in the upper 10 percent of the class, and have taken upper level courses in mathematics, science, English, and foreign language. The student must also have excellent attendance, be an exemplary school citizen, and be involved in the school activity program.

Armstrong, Fick and Sivasankar are National Merit Finalists. Fewer than 1 percent of the 1.6 million high school students who took the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) last year, reach finalist status. They, along with Celeste O'Brien (North); Aravind Kalathil and Katie Whitmore (South); and Aliyah Amerin, Malia Johnson and Bennett Nelson (West) await word on scholarship awards. Finally, Armstrong, Fick and Jones each scored a perfect 36 on the ACT. #FZPride

16 students recognized among nation's best
Posted on 09/13/2018
National Merit LogoCongratulations to:
West High’s Aliyah Amerin, Matthew Armstrong, Malia Johnson, Bennett Nelson, Satyanarayanan Sivasankar …

South High’s Aravind Kalathil and Kathleen Whitmore and ...

North High’s Caleb Fick and Celeste O’Brien

These 2018 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists are among the top scorers on a test taken by more than 1 million high school juniors at more than 22,000 high schools across the nation. The semifinalists represent less than 1 percent of high school students who qualify to continue in the competition. Next spring, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation will award about $35 million to roughly 8,000 graduating high school seniors.

Congratulations also to Fort Zumwalt’s 2018 National Merit Scholarship Commended Scholars, who scored among the top five percent in the nation. 

East High’s Caitlyn Elias; North High’s Emily Burns and Brendan Hoffmann; South High’s Emma Hixon and Akshat Nadella; and West High’s Ryan Orf and Malvika Pandya

collage yearbook photos