Newly elected members swearing in to office

At the regular monthly meeting of the Fort Zumwalt School District Board of Education, newly elected members of the Board were sworn in to serve their three-year terms. Incumbent Erica Powers was re-elected and newly elected members Marc Pratte and Kathryn Byrd were sworn in for their first terms.

Because Fort Zumwalt is designated an urban district by the state, it is required to reorganize the Board of Education within 10 days of the April election. In Missouri, Board of Education elections are non-partisan, meaning that candidates have no political party affiliation. Members are elected at-large, meaning that they represent the district as an entity, not a particular ward or region of the district. Each of the seven members are elected to three-year terms. Elections are always held the first Tuesday in April. Members are volunteers.